Jaguar I-Pace wins the title “Car of the Year 2019”

The winner of the “Car of the Year” Award 2019 is the Jaguar I-Pace, chosen by 60 automotive journalists from 23 European countries. The decisive vote was taken live this afternoon at the Geneva International Motor Show in presence of international press representatives. Ian Callum, Jaguar Director of Design, received the award.

The winner, Jaguar I-Pace, won the final in a head-to-head race for the prestigious and coveted car prize against six other competitors. For the first time ever, two cars had the same number of winning points: The Alpine A110 and the Jaguar I-Pace. The Jaguar I-Pace finally won the prize thanks to the jury’s decision. The Jaguar was placed in the number 1 slot more often than its competitor (Jaguar I-Pace: 18, Alpine A110: 16 times).

The trophy was handed over by jury President and STERN automotive journalist Frank Janssen to Ian Callum, Jaguar Director of Design. Ian Callum was extremely proud of the title: “An electric SUV – that’s the future”. The Jaguar brand won the coveted award for the first time.

In addition to innovation and safety, the decisive criteria for the title are design and value for money.

Results of the vote 2019:

  • Jaguar I-Pace: 250 points
  • Alpine A110: 250 points
  • Kia Ceed: 247 points
  • Ford Focus: 235 points
  • Citroën C5 Aircross: 210 points
  • Peugeot 508: 192 points
  • Mercedes-Benz A-class: 116 points

About “Car of the Year”:

The “Car of the Year” trophy is considered as the most prestigious and conveted award in the automobile world. Currently, 60 journalists from 23 countries are members of the jury. The Car of the Year was created by STERN and it has been awarded since 1964. It was established by seven European magazines from seven countries: Germany (Stern), Italy (Auto), France (L’Automobile Magazine), Spain (Autopista), United Kingdom (Autocar), The Netherlands (Autovisie) and Sweden (Vi Bilägare).

Zdroj: COTY
6.March 2019